Politics and Twitter

Hey, y’all. Before I start this post, I can explain. I haven’t been on here in awhile, and if I’m being honest, I really don’t have an excuse. But I have been writing! I wrote a short play, and even started a full length one. So I’m holding myself to this whole “Ryan as a writer” idea! Don’t be mad at me (I know no one’s mad at me, no one’s waiting for my new blog posts with baited breath).

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s talk.

Let’s talk about Twitter (here’s mine, btw). More specifically, let’s talk about politics and Twitter. To start, I’d like to say that I think Twitter is wonderful; it’s wonderful for networking, news, comedy, even politics. It really is one of my favorite social media sites.

In terms of politics, I think it’s a really smart tool. It’s great for people to send out their personal political opinions, and also to follow politicians they like. A lot of political officials do, in fact, have Twitters, and I think they should. It’s a great way to connect to the people on a very direct level. Our soon to be former President has a Twitter, as does our newest President-elect. The question I raise when it comes to politics and Twitter is: what do we qualify as overstepping the boundaries of what is okay to say on there?

Let’s take a look at Donald Trump’s Twitter account. As you may have heard, there has been a lot of issue surrounding the things he tweets during his campaign, and especially now after winning the election. As the President, the highest held political office in this country, you must be careful about the way you present yourself on a social media platform like this. Donald Trump has not been.

In fact, since winning the election, a majority of Donald Trump’s tweets have been extremely defensive. Defending things he really shouldn’t have to, because he literally won. To me, this makes him look very insecure, and dare I say it, childish.

How do we start to even talk about how inappropriate this tweet is? This man has been nothing but a sore winner, and shouldn’t we be even a little alarmed that he is quoting Vladimir Putin? The bad, bad man that leads Russia? The country that allegedly hacked and corrupted this years election? THIS IS NOT GOOD. Okay. Next.

Above is a tweet that Donald Trump tweeted the day after Christmas. Let’s remind ourselves, Obama didn’t run. Obama wasn’t able to run. In no situation would the two have run against each other, but here Donald is, getting upset and sending out his first thoughts and reactions. Did he take a second to think, “Should I tweet this?” I doubt it.

Let’s keep going.

Another tweet from the day after Christmas. In Donald’s mind, he has decided the entire world had no hope and was “gloomy” before he won. I’d just like to say: personally, I had a lot more hope and less gloom before he won. He states that Christmas spending has gone up, and he claims responsibility for it. In what world is it acceptable for any political official, let alone the President, to claim ownership of the market surrounding a worldwide holiday?

Boo hoo, Donald. So sad. Just one question: don’t you have bigger things to be worrying about? Our President-elect is literally sending out tweets every day whining and complaining about the smallest of issues. Next.

His most recent tweet. I’m confused about this one. Which election is he talking about? 2008? 2012? Because again, OBAMA DID NOT RUN IN 2016. He was never in competition with Trump. What are you talking about, Donald?

Fun fact: He has tweeted much less thought out things than the tweets I have mentioned here, but if I wanted to dissect all of those I’d be here all night, and that is not what I want to spend my time doing.

I don’t know how this has been happening for so long without anyone stopping him. He is overstepping boundaries left and right on social media, and no one is doing anything about it. I ask you all, my friends, my colleagues, don’t sit idly by and just watch it happen. Stay informed. Keep up with his Twitter and remind yourself why the things he tweets are not okay. A man in his position should not be critiquing every little issue people have with him on Twitter. He shouldn’t still be defending his win. He should move on. I fear that one day he will tweet something that really puts our country in a dangerous position.

That’s all I got.

 

Leave a Reply

